A happy ending after all…….

After six days of problems with television reception, a service man was scheduled to come today to remedy the problem. The nice lady who set up the appointment told me my equipment would be replaced since I had been a customer for such a long time and they had upgraded everything.

I received two telephone messages informing me of the expected arrival time of the technician, what he would do and telling me he would be at my home for two hours. Prior to the expected time, I received a call from the man informing me he would be on time. I was impressed!

Upon his arrival, he examined the set in my bedroom, then went outside to check the dish. In a few minutes, I was told that “a tree” had grown up and was blocking the signal. It was a piece of shrubbery, not a tree, but it was removed and the reception seemed to be restored. I asked if he was going to replace the outdated equipment and I was informed he was not. I repeated what I had been told, but still got the same response. A total of twenty two minutes and he was gone.

Before the man even arrived, I received a questionnaire on my computer wanting to know if I was pleased with the service call. I responded and said I had a picture, but the old equipment was not replaced.

Very shortly after that, another call came in. The technician said, “Give me an hour and I will be there with new equipment to install.” After two hours, I had service restored, using the latest technology and the man went on his way. My Mother’s warning from my childhood immediately came to mind, “Do it right the first time and you won’t have to do it twice!”

One thought on “A happy ending after all…….

  1. I’m soooo happy for you. Being without our television is like being without our right arm. I’m of the age I never grew up without television. I often wonder what people did after supper and before bedtime. There’s only so much you can talk about night after night after night. Jean, I see several stories about that.
    I’m so glad your patience and politeness paid off – BUT, new equipment????? Now you’ve got to learn new stuff – there’s always bad with the good.

    Like

Leave a comment