That was then….this is NOW

Looking back a few months overwhelms me! It does everyone if you are old enough to remember “the good old days.” Things are not the same!

Today is Sunday. On a typical Sunday I would be up very early because I would be leaving for Sunday school as soon as Dr. David Jeremiah was over at 7:30 AM. That isn’t happening today. Because my cable has not been working for the past five days, I did not see Dr. Jeremiah or anything else on television today.

I have a Saturday night routine and by some miracle, I was able to be with my favorite people on the Lawrence Welk show from 6 o’clock until 7:00PM and that was it! No more TV. Total signal loss…but there was no storm or bad weather. The sun is shining today, but still no signal.

I did go out to get the paper this morning. It was there! No longer do we receive a paper on Saturday. We are encouraged to subscribe to the on-line version. I still like to clip things from a piece of paper I can hold in my hand.

Since the pandemic came along, we do not go to the church building as a congregation, we have been remaining at home. My church has had a television ministry for many years, so I watch as the pastor delivers the message to several singers who are there and to those who man the cameras, when we have television to watch!

Thank goodness for my IPad! I will be able to watch several things on it today. I know that the inconvenience of yesterday and this morning are minor compared to what could be happening. I am not a complainer by nature, but it really would be nice IF today was “ then” when life was simple and we could depend on things that worked all the time!

One thought on “That was then….this is NOW

  1. When you live alone television is EVERYTHING!!!! I have a hoity-toity relative who says she never watches television, like it’s beneath her intelligence. I try not to think ill of people but I am counting on Karma to teach her a lesson. Maybe I need to tune into Jean’s televised church session to redeem myself.
    Television has been the ONLY thing that has helped to survive this pandemic and no socialization with our friends and family. Jean, I sure hope your tv service is restored today.

    Like

Leave a comment