Patsy Rinehardt…our Great Dane

I was going through a plastic bin when I found a large scarf that belonged to my Mother. It has never been worn and was in her things when I cleaned out her house after she passed away. It had been packed away and this was the first time I had seen it. The scarf had a border lined with pictures of dogs. In the center was a large picture of a Great Dane.

I do not know exactly when Patsy, became our pet, but it was many years ago and the date and other details are not clear in my memory. If Mother was still living she could furnish all of that. She had an amazing capacity for remembering everything.

We had moved to Columbia from Charleston and lived near A.C.Moore school at the corner of Rosewood Drive and South Waccamaw Avenue. We had a free standing garage in the back yard on a large lot. The garage became Patsy’s doghouse. A large area was fenced in so she could not roam freely. It was Mother’s responsibly to feed Patsy and to keep the area clean.

Patsy was large and she seemed almost like a pony! I don’t remember when we got Patsy and when she left us. We have a few photos of her, but not that many. Evidently her care became too much for Mother and so far as I know she was given to someone who really wanted a Great Dane.

Nevertheless, the scarf was Mother’s way of remembering Patsy. The colors in the scarf are a little faded, as are my memories. I was glad when I came across this reminder of times past and a dog that was loved by my Mother.

One thought on “Patsy Rinehardt…our Great Dane

Leave a comment